Friday, 14 January 2011

Chris Montez - Call Me- The A&M Years - Truly charming Easy Listening and a great great voice!

Chris Montez started out in the early ’60s as a Ritchie Valens-influenced, fairly gritty rock & roller. But upon signing with A&M in the mid-’60s, he changed to a much smoother style that crossed easy listening pop, bossa nova, and the lightest of pop/rock touches. This 22-track compilation focuses on his 1966-1968 recordings for the label, which did bring him a fair amount of pop success, a far cry though they were from the days of his raucous 1962 smash “Let’s Dance.” All four of his 1966 Top 40 hits are here (“Call Me,” “The More I See You,” “There Will Never Be Another You,” and “Time After Time”), as well as many other tracks that emphasize his almost womanishly high vocals and a loungey mid-tempo groove. There are, perhaps, too many standards filling out the CD, and too many bossa nova-easy listening blends; if you’re going to hear that stuff, you’re much better off with an actual Brazilian singer who made it their main dish, like Astrud Gilberto…

1. Call Me
2. More I See You
3. Foolin Around
4. Very Thought Of You
5. Time After Time
6. There Will Never Be Another You
7. Where Are You Now
8. Because Of You
9. Face I Love
10. Our Day Will Come
11. Going Out Of My Head
12. Elena
13. Shadow Of Your Smile
14. Once I Loved (O Amor Em Paz)
15. Fly Me To The Moon
16. Keep Talkin
17. Love Is Here To Stay
18. Little White Lies
19. Just Friends
20. I Will Wait For You
21. I'm Glad There Is You (In This World Of Ordinary People)
22. End Of A Love Affair

click me