Tuesday, 10 November 2009

Manfred Mann-Chapter Three, Volume One (1969)

Manfred Mann Chapter III was formed in England in 1969 after the break up of Manfred Mann famous for their chart topping pop hits throughout the 1960s. Manfred Mann’s Chapter III had a more Progressive appearance and moved away from their Pop roots. Chapter III was formed after the break up of the (Chapter II) line up of Manfred Mann in 1969 which featured singer Mike D'Abo, not forgetting the legendary (Chapter I) line up in the early 60s which featured singer Paul Jones.

Manfred Mann's Chapter III turned their backs on three minute Pop singles and light hearted songs to develop a more Jazz and Progressive sound often had lengthy tracks with solos.
Manfred Mann's Chapter III only recorded Mike Hugg or Manfred Mann compositions this was deliberate to avoid lead guitar. Sadly for Manfred Mann's Chapter 3 the band had unsuccessful record sales and paid the price for this and unfortunate for Manfred Mann's Chapter III they had disbanded late in 1970. This is their first album, recorded between June and October 1969 in the Old Kent Road. (Bio Written by Progman)

Craig Collinge (drums)
Bernie Living (saxophone)
Brian Hugg (guitar)
Mike Hugg (keyboards, vocals)
Manfred Mann )keyboards)
Steve York (bass)

01 - Travelling Lady
02 - Snakeskin Garter
03 - Konekuf
04 - Sometimes
05 - Devil Woman
06 - Time
07 - One Way Glass
08 - Mister You're A Better Man Than I
09 - Ain't It Sad
10 - A Study In Inaccuracy
11 - Where Am I Going
12 - Sometimes (Mono)
13 - Mother (Aka Travelling Lady-Mono)
14 - Devil Woman (Single)
15 - A Study In Inaccuracy (Alternative Version)

The unusual sound of Mann


Anonymous said...

Wonderful blog thanks especially for this one of those album s you like to play for people who think they know what a band is all about... it is missing track six though...
Keep up the great work